The 39?


What to do with the 39 Melachot? We just got done with studying Chapter 8 of FFOZ.org’s publication Restoration. This chapter focuses on the lost commandment to keep the Sabbath. The 39 Melachot are the basic teachings on what you should or shouldn’t do on Shabbat. In Isaiah 56 there is an admonition that Jew as well as gentiles will be blessed by keeping the Sabbath.

Isa 56:6 KJV – Also the sons of the stranger, that join themselves to the LORD, to serve him, and to love the name of the LORD, to be his servants, every one that keepeth the sabbath from polluting it, and taketh hold of my covenant;

Isa 56:7 KJV – Even them will I bring to my holy mountain, and make them joyful in my house of prayer: their burnt offerings and their sacrifices [shall be] accepted upon mine altar; for mine house shall be called an house of prayer for all people.

My focus is on ” every one that keepeth the sabbath from polluting it” what does this mean? The word “polluting” is the same word in Hebrew according to Strong’s Concordance that is translated profane in the Ten Commandments, Lev 19:12 KJV – “And ye shall not swear by my name falsely, neither shalt thou profane the name of thy God: I [am] the LORD.” I would argue that most Christians take this commandment very seriously and try to avoid phrases that might seem to profane the name of the Lord. But how is it that we profane the Sabbath?

Merriam-Webster says profane means 1 : to treat (something sacred) with abuse, irreverence, or contempt : desecrate 2 : to debase by a wrong, unworthy, or vulgar use. I like the parenthetical “something sacred.” Shabbat is sacred, how might we hold it in contempt, abuse it or be ireverent?

This brings me back around to the 39 Melachot. Must we follow all these guidlines to prevent profaning the Sabbath and thereby bring on the blessings of the Most High? I wish I had the answer!

One thought on “The 39?

  1. Amy January 28, 2011 / 11:55 am

    Wow! Thanks for sharing this link about the Sabbath. I did not know the extent of those laws. No offense, but in my opinion, that is man-made restriction. I think having to worry so much about so many things, under threat of death, is in opposition to the purpose of the Sabbath. The Sabbath should be a delight, a day set apart from the world to reflect and enjoy the blessings of God. I also think when we are in tune with the Spirit, we know what is important and what is not.

What do you think?

