My Grandpa


I have often turned to writing when there is something stressful going on in my life. My grandpa has been in late stage Alzheimer’s for a awhile now, maybe over a year. He recently began refusing to eat, can’t hold up his head, can only say phrases occasionally, but cannot talk with you. My Granny, is essentially without family support and it drives me crazy that she is all alone in this. I began to pray that if it was His will that He take my Grandpa home, take him out of this suffering and into paradise. I don’t know if that is right or not. But his suffering and that of Granny’s is so immense, it seems merciful to take him now….He hasn’t been him for quite sometime…I just hate to see him this way, and I can’t imagine what it must be like to be trapped in that body…I dunno if this is helping my state of mind. Grandpa will have a birthday on the 16th of November, but the way Granny sees it he may not make it….

One thought on “My Grandpa

  1. Mary October 16, 2009 / 12:43 pm

    I know what you mean… my Grandpa had Alzheimers too but the Lord took him by a heart attack before it got too bad but my Grandma was in a home for awhile before she passed. She was a manic depressant so she ended up “crawling into herself” and not communicating at all. You would look into her eyes and could tell she was just looking straight through you not at you. It got to the point it was just her body existing not her. I'm praying for you, your Grandpa, Grandma and entire family! *HUGS!*

What do you think?

