JPS Commentary on the Haggadah: Historical Introduction, Translation, and Commentary Pt.1


I got my book on Friday, didn’t get a chance to get into it till after the kids went to bed. Now I understand why only a few educated men signed up for this book….talk about a cure for insomnia! Now in all seriousness this book will bring to light so much in regards to the creation of the Seder and the Haggadah, but I am afraid it won’t answer all the questions you will have as you read it. The Author even makes an apology for this in the Preface and invites the reader to read the books listed in the Bibliography. Though it follows one of the more popular mnemonics for the order of the Seder the book still feels like its random in the pattern the author follows as he tells of the history and the elements of the meal. I am still working through the text and I will bring more updates, just thought I would start with first impressions. My first impression is that I will have a much longer reading list after I finish reading this!

One thought on “JPS Commentary on the Haggadah: Historical Introduction, Translation, and Commentary Pt.1

  1. derek4messiah.wordpress.com March 10, 2010 / 7:14 pm

    Becky:

    Yes, it is a detailed and (as I mentioned in my review, part 2 today) less-than-ideally organized book. But, it is the best and simplest one-volume, short commentary I could recommend. And I think if people skip over details that do not matter to them, and focus on parts that interest them, this book will delight and inform.

    Thanks for the reviews and look forward to reading more. I will start linking you as a J-BOM blogger from now on.

    Derek Leman

What do you think?

