Facebook, Families and Failure


I just read a post on my brother’s page that has sent me through a range of emotions, sadness, anger, and finally apathy. I thought I would drop in see what he was up to, catch up on the Mexican word of the day and I run into a bit of family business.
A family, that I am no longer welcome in, a family that was mine and that I loved, and now it belongs to another little girl. How painful it was to me at 13 to learn that my father was leaving our family, moving back to Ohio, to live with another family, to have another daughter, to marry another woman. My parents had been divorced for maybe two years at that point, but he was still around taking us now and then for a weekend or a week. Then at the same time that I had learned that my Granny and Papa were gone, when I had traveled with my mother across the country to be at Papa’s funeral, then I learn that He was going to marry a woman named Sue, who had a daughter maybe she was 5, oh and she looks just like you, says some well meaning Aunt or cousin.
But don’t hate on my Father, my Mother doesn’t have anything to do with me either. I always tell people that if you see the same results with different relationships, then maybe its you.So maybe its me, something about how I managed those years from child to adult drove away my parents and kept them at bay. I would like to say that I have learned, I have a wonderful relationship with my MIL and FIL and we have been family for almost 13 years!

One thought on “Facebook, Families and Failure

  1. Shoshannah November 13, 2010 / 12:22 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart Becky. It is such a privilege for me to to see this little part of you. I am familiar with the hurts and wounds and brokenness that any sort of rejection can and does cause … especially when it is from those closest to us, those who are meant to love us the most. But praise Yah that His love heals our bruises and binds our wounds and restores all of the brokenness :o).
    I have really loved reading all of your latest posts!! Thank you!

    ps You have been so very very blessed from our Fathers treasure house with your beautiful husband and gorgeous children!

    Blessings and Shalom
    Shoshannah

What do you think?

