Is it Winter yet?


As the sun sets on the month of October I rejoice in the knowledge that this time next year my sweet husband will be home from Afghanistan and we will be enjoying the waning of Fall together. This is usually my favorite time of year, but this year I find myself just wanting to get it over with so we can start in on Winter to move on to Spring to suffer through the Summer and then we will arrive safely, thankfully at a beautiful Fall season with our hearts full of anticipation and our minds focused on home coming.

And yet as I write this I think that I don’t want to waste the year with thought of tomorrow, I want to have something to show for it. I want to be able to look back on the year and be proud of my hard work, and the success of the children. I guess I do want to stop and smell the roses and admire the Fall colors, I just want to do it on fast forward. Are both possible?

3 thoughts on “Is it Winter yet?

  1. Adamant Academy October 31, 2010 / 12:42 am

    No you can't fast forward Sorry! Just take each day and the great things and keep them remembered so you can share that news with your husband and think of all the new things the children will show him upon his homecoming. No that each day brings you a day closer

  2. Brenda Franks October 31, 2010 / 8:04 am

    You are the best mom I know! You are so patient, loving, kind, and understanding. You are also so good at keeping your home as a haven for your family – you keep it nice, and it's a fun place to be. You remind me so much of the Proverbs 31 woman because in everything you do it is so evident how much you love your family. This is what you have to show when he comes home – and he is blessed because of it – that your children and your home have been taken care of very well while he is gone. I love you and I miss you.

  3. Andi October 31, 2010 / 10:12 am

    Oh my heart reaches out for you, may YHVH give you peace and strength for each day ahead.

What do you think?

