My Kitchen


I have a very small kitchen it is about 9×10.That is before the full sized oven, refrigerator and dishwasher. Wedged in between these appliances are the cupboards and kitchen sink. If you stand at the sink and I stand at the stove we will bump into each other. You cannot open the refrigerator and the dishwasher at the same time. I have a microwave and bread machine on one counter and a toaster, coffee maker, and a mixer on the other. I have to constantly play appliance Tetris to use the counters to make anything that uses more that one pot. Last Preparation day I was making a number of dishes for Shabbat, I pulled out my recipe box to make some muffins for breakfast. I set it on a sliver of counter space and knocked it  over getting my Challah out of the oven. The 3×5 cards spilled out all over the floor. I took a deep breath, set my MP3 player aside, and picked them all back up again promising myself that I would re-alphabetize them on Sunday.
I have to say that we have it easy, I can’t imagine trying to prepare with a wood/coal burning stove, having to wash everything by hand…for real! I can’t complain, it will make for some blessed memories in years to come.

What do you think?

