Home is where the Army sends you.


My kids on more than a few occasions have asked when we are going home, while we sit at our dining room table. They mean when can we go back to Texas. I always reply that this is our home now, that the Army needs Daddy to serve at this Post and we will stay here until the Army decided to move us.

We have only had one duty station, we have been here for 3 years. My youngest three children have not truly known any other home. My oldest two only have memories and those are mostly of my MIL, their Big Mama.

For my children, though they understand this to be our home, for them their heart resides with their Big Mama. Of course there is that part of me that wants to be a bit jealous, but then I reign it in and realize how blessed they are to have such a Godly woman for a grandmother. One who always reinforces our values and beliefs, who disciplines when necessary and doesn’t go overboard and spoil them on presents and sweet treats. I thank God that I don’t dread phone calls with Big Mama and my children like some of my unfortunate friends do. I thank God that my children feel comfortable talking to her and that her advice and encouragement will be firmly grounded in the Word.

Now back to home…we are home once again. The housing here had so graciously put us up in emergency housing for 10 days while our house was repaired and cleaned. No matter what we did at the little house it wasn’t home, and the kids kept asking to go home and this time they meant the place where we live! Once home they realized it was changed and would remain that way, the couch was gone, no more Daddy’s chair, we have makeshift lamps collected form other rooms to light the living room. But they are home and they seem content and I am grateful that we are back home….now if only we could get Daddy home too!

4 thoughts on “Home is where the Army sends you.

  1. renae December 12, 2010 / 3:15 pm

    We are glad you are back home too!! We missed seeing you all around!! And now I don't have to keep hearing Abbi ask “When is Talitha coming home??” 🙂

  2. Becky December 12, 2010 / 8:07 pm

    LOL, now I am getting, “Can I go play with Abbi?” at 630 in the morning!!

  3. Becky December 15, 2010 / 3:21 pm

    Yes one of my children playing with a lighter 😦

What do you think?

