I couldn’t believe it


We went out to the car this morning, well almost noon and there on the back panel close to the window was a small swastika. It measures about 2.5 inches overall. But it made me catch my breath, it’s impact is huge.

We are not Jewish, even though the Army has my husband listed that way. We are Observant Gentiles, we follow Judaism as a religion that we feel closely imitates the way Yeshua (Jesus) walked out his life. We are not converts, though I won’t say we haven’t considered it. If you knew us IRL you might guess we were Jewish. We attend a Messianic Jewish Congregation. We support Israel. People often mistake us for Jewish and I hardly ever correct them…its too complicated.

When I saw this swastika I thought “someone” else thinks we are Jewish and hates that. They hate enough to scratch the paint off my vehicle in this taboo symbol hoping to strike fear, to show us their complete disregard for our property.

I called the MP’s they took a report, asked around, they will look into it.

I told my husband he was concerned for us, he was mad, he was concerned for other Jewish families on post.

My husband signed up after 9/11 he signed up because he wanted to fight terror in its front yard. He re-enlisted last year because he knows the fight isn’t won yet. He signed up because he values America and its amazing freedoms. He supports the constitution and has pledged with his life to defend it. And while he is sacrificing for our freedoms, “someone” threatens his.

I wrote this post over a couple of weeks. I have come to terms that someone has done this on purpose, I’m mad. I’m mad at their parents. I’m mad at their school, this is the result of tolerance training? As my son sits here in the living room dressed to the  teeth in ACU’s I’m mad that someday he will know this hate and feel its sting, but I’m thankful he doesn’t know today. I mad because they have threatened my peace, they have tried to invade my feeling of safety. Trying to make us feel as though we should not be here, because of our beliefs.

We have scheduled to have the car repainted. No one has been found to blame this on. And we have to live our life. Does it matter what the person thought when they went to scratch my car? No, damage done either way, whether hate or ignorance or both fueled their decision, damage done. But does that mean we are moving? Should we not wear kippah and tzit tzit in public? Should we not put up our 8ft tall Hanukkah Bear?No on all accounts, we will continue to walk out what we feel is right, they will not win. I have half a mind to fly the Israeli Flag by the front door!

10 thoughts on “I couldn’t believe it

  1. Barb December 29, 2010 / 2:56 pm

    Becky…I hate that you are so far away. It makes me want to play bodyguard and I know you don't need that! The truth is hate is still a part of our society and it shows up in the darnedest places sometimes! You have never apologized for your beliefs, your way of life, your choices, and now is no time to start. They say that if you are persecuted for your beliefs, you are doing something right. I am so proud of you and Bobby and your amazing family. I pray the person who was raised so wrong to do such a thing is found. Soon!

  2. YahKheena December 29, 2010 / 3:22 pm

    I'm sorry your having to go through this, but I agree with barb you must be doing something right!

    When I read “I have half a mind to fly the Israeli Flag by the fron door!” I raised my hands in victory and said, “Yes, I'm with you sister!” Keep on keepin on!!

  3. Renae December 29, 2010 / 3:36 pm

    When you came and told me it broke my heart, but then when I went out and saw it it mad me furious!! When Kris walked in the door after talking with you and seeing the damage he said “just let me catch someone doing that….” I am sure you can figure out what the rest of the words were. You keep walking the walk you walk, you are a inspiration to others however they may worship! And I say fly it girl!!!

  4. Blacksheep December 29, 2010 / 5:35 pm

    Just want you to know sweaty that I was so inspired by the strength of what you posted that I passed it on to some of the Jewish personel here on leatherneck and to the Jewish theater chaplain. I'm really proud of the stregth you show every day. elephent shoes.

  5. Andi December 29, 2010 / 10:46 pm

    Becky…..I am sorry this was done to you, honestly when I read your post, I was angry too….and I yelled yes with YahKheena…please understand my heart when I say you were not alone in this action, we felt it too….your brothers and sisters, miles apart, online, or other wise…you are not alone…and I would personally like to thank your husband for his service…..

  6. Sowers of Hope December 30, 2010 / 6:12 am

    I'm sorry this has happened and will pray for your family.

    In Messiah forever!!
    Claudia

  7. Shoshannah December 30, 2010 / 6:54 am

    Becky
    I went cold when I read this post … as just yesterday I too was confronted with hatred for being taken for Jewish. I understand the flood of emotions at what has happened. I agree whole-heartedly with you … you cannot stop being who you are, for it is no longer what we 'believe' but who we have become :o) Just as Andi commented … your brothers and sisters stand united with you no matter where we are in the world. I will be praying for you my sister.
    I am going to do a blog post on this shortly .. would it be ok with you if I used this post of yours as a link?
    Hugs and Blessings
    Shoshannah

  8. Becky December 30, 2010 / 8:44 am

    Thank you all for your encouragement and prayers. @Shoshannah I would be honored for you to link back to my post.

    Thank you all for your support it does mean so much!

  9. Paulina January 8, 2011 / 3:49 pm

    😦 I'm so sorry you had to endure this! But blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness sake!

    I've yet to experience this type of hatred towards me. But I know that when I marry, and it will not just be me looking Jewish, that maybe I will experience the anti-Semitism first hand.

    You are blessed to have friends and family who support you 🙂

    Shabbat Shalom!

  10. Jamie January 22, 2011 / 11:20 am

    That is horrible! 😦 It makes me angry just reading about how awful people can be! But I so admire your strength and decision to stay exactly where you are and stand in the face of this hatred towards Believers.

    I have never experienced any kind of anti-semitism, but I have been called out and shot down for being a follower of the Messiah. It hurts, and it made me think of how much pain Yeshua endured for all the hatred His own children threw at Him!

    My prayers are with you and all of the Jewish and/or TO families in your area!

    Shabbat Shalom and be blessed! 🙂

    ~Jamie

What do you think?

