Payos or not to Payos? Is that the right question?


Well this post is not really about the hairstyles that are known as payos or payot. This is about how to follow, 
Leviticus 19:27 MSG 
The Message 
“Don’t cut the hair on the sides of your head or trim your beard. 
Leviticus 19:27 KJV 
King James Version 
Ye shall not round the corners of your heads, neither shalt thou mar the corners of thy beard. 
Leviticus 19:27 CJB 
Complete Jewish Bible 
Don’t round your hair at the temples or mar the edges of your beard. 
All lifted from biblestudytools.com 
I included the Message in my pull, not because I endorse this horrible paraphrase of the NIV, but because in this instance it seems to have cut(no pun intended) right to the heart of the matter. Don’t cut your hair on the sides of your head…now I think this is for men because of the beard reference, but what does it mean not to cut the hair on the side of your head? The following is what the halacha boils down to: 

A good friend shared both the reference and the idea that anything more than this “how to” is Hiddur Mitzvah, to make a mitzvah more beautiful or grand.

My intention with this post is not to discuss whether we should or shouldn’t keep this commandment, my intention is to determine how. I have always loved such simple halacha, that lays out so succinctly the how to. Today I took my boys in for their regular haircut discussed with the barber what I needed and walked out feeling like “Wow, that was easy!”

2 thoughts on “Payos or not to Payos? Is that the right question?

  1. Sombra January 8, 2011 / 1:18 am

    And so, we don't get to see the boys with their new hair cuts?

    Sombra

  2. Becky January 8, 2011 / 8:11 am

    @Sombra, thats the funny thing, they just have regular haircuts :), but they didn't cut the hair down to skin, no shaving the sideburns or around the ear. You wouldn't notice it, really. My oldest, absolutely does not want curly sidelocks…I don't know why. My middle one, he just likes his hair trimmed even, and the youngest one doesn't have curls yet, so I let his grow a bit longer.

What do you think?

