Proverbs 31 Challenge


Week 2

Proverbs 31:13-15  



13 She procures a supply of wool and flax and works with willing hands. 14 She is like those merchant vessels, bringing her food from far away. 15 It’s still dark when she rises to give food to her household and orders to the young women serving her.


Oh goodness! Really? I so struggle with this, I am not a morning person or a night person. I would like to sleep from 10 – 8, is that too much to ask? 


While studying the daily prayers in Judaism, I stumbled upon the idea that women were not required to say certain prayers throughout the day, because they had time restraints on them. Meaning that a married woman with children would not be expected to be up at the crack of dawn to pray or that she would be required to pray morning prayers while three children run wild throughout the the house. I was so relieved to read this, I verified it with another mom, my mentor. I was relieved that this thing I was always told to do that I could never figure out how to do while a kid or now a young mother was not a requirement….whew! But know I am being drawn back to the up before dawn…geesh! really?


My kids wake me up not the other way around. I sleep till they do, today that was 7:51a and I was in so much heaven 🙂 somedays that is 5:30a and I am in not so much heaven 😦  So how do I read through this section and find new direction and reconcile this time difference…does the sun get up later in Israel?


Verse thirteen tells me she is practical and thrifty, that she enjoys her work. I love to be practical, to make things people will use and will save from having to buy them. We dress modestly and that can be expensive. So I like to make dresses and slips and skirts for both my daughter and myself. I also know when buying ready made is less expensive and will not make items I can buy for less. I enjoy this work, it used to be a beloved hobby before I had children 🙂


Verse 14 is interesting isn’t it? A merchant vessel? From far away? Well I do order some food products through a friend but they only come up the road from Nashville, I will occasionally order online for food products, but UPS is my merchant vessel. I think this means that we are to plan out our menus, are lists are way of eating and then do what ever we can to bring those food goods into the home. Plant a garden? Visit the local farmer’s market, order online, brave the snooty section of Nashville and dare I say Whole Foods?!?!


Verse 15 now this is the one that I am going to pretend isn’t in my version of the Bible, or maybe I will say, “That isn’t for today, that is for “back then.””, or how about, “The Lord is not speaking to me, that must be for someone else.”  Okay okay you know me better than that, I need to face this verse head on. You know the Duggars aren’t early risers…okay okay I will get right on that. Let’s be honest, getting some time to yourself in the wee hours of the morning can be precious and productive, so why am I not doing it? I think its the idea I have in my head that I need 12 hours or maybe just 8, but I would settle for 6. And yet, I’m not getting that even with sleeping in till 7:51a. So lets say my kids are up regularly by 7, if I were to rise while it was still dark, right now that would be prior to 6:30a. Now for me a quick read through through the parasha, morning prayers, a shower(a blessed thing) and dressed to shoes would take me an hour, so lets play it safe and wake at 5:30a and then if a monkey gets up early or I have to nurse the little one back to sleep I will still get my morning. 


Now the last part of this verse about feeding the help and prepping them for their day…ah the joys! Yesterday I was up at 5:00a, I tidied the whole downstairs, my room and and bathroom, wrote a check for my wonderful cleaning lady! I was able to finish up a study I am doing on Passover and Communion and I had a hot breakfast on the table and children dressed to shoes and ready for MOPS, early!!  Tell me again why I don’t get up early? 


Challenge for the next week… Up by 0’dark thirty! Hooah!


6 thoughts on “Proverbs 31 Challenge

  1. Amy February 18, 2011 / 12:40 pm

    I really think the part about rising before dark implies having a plan and not being lazy; using our time wisely. I do't think we actually have to up before the sun. (It does change throughout the year!)

    A few years ago I read a quote from the 1800's along these lines. It said something about not wasting time talking to your neighbors and letting your bread rise too much or burn. It was kind of harsh criticism, going on about being wasteful and not appreciating the work their husbands did to supply them with flour. It really struck me that we humans really haven't changed much. We have always found ways to goof off, we have always made mistakes, we have always needed wise counsel to help us learn the best choices. It actually made me feel kind of good to know that,relieved some pressure to “do it all”.

  2. Blacksheep February 18, 2011 / 7:06 pm

    Becky I am o proud of you. I know what a challenge it is for you to get up that early. I am blessed to know that you found a blessing in this. And, you go ahead and goof off once in a while it's good for the soul. 😉

    p.s.: I miss your Challah

  3. Blacksheep February 18, 2011 / 7:09 pm

    I also miss Talitha's dreads, she looked so beutifull when she had those little dreadlocks. I know, I know the pain and the drama was too much to bare, but it's the ruth….darn stiff keys on ths keboard.

  4. Becky February 18, 2011 / 8:59 pm

    Amy I think there is something to be said for goofing off once in awhile, but I'm not sure what that looks like any more, lol, maybe MOPS? But I do see in Ps 63 and Mark 1 that there is something special about the dawn.

  5. Becky February 18, 2011 / 9:00 pm

    Blacksheep…dreads? Were you watching the slide show? Come on now lets stay focused!

  6. Blacksheep February 19, 2011 / 11:59 am

    (sheepishly) Yah I was looking at the slide show, and what I cant say I like how Talitha looked with dreads. I do miss your Challah though.

What do you think?

