Oh How I love to hate Facebook!


I am always looking for new ideas to blog about. I ran into Lauren’s blog Ladaisi and wanted to add my two cents on Facebook.

I have great friends on Facebook, people I have never met and whom I may never meet. They are uplifting with their status updates, or they are terribly thought provoking or challenging. Urging me on to be a better person, to grow.

I have also run into people who irritate the heck out of me, every post is an in your face conspiracy theory, or a slam on how the whole of Christianity has it all wrong and the only way to G-d is ______ (fill in the blank with any ole’craziness and you see what I mean).

The latter don’t last long on my news feed I love the option to block all further posts by any certain person or group. I detest advertisements on my page so those go first. Then I do away the the conspiracy theorists. I think the next category would be those who have missed out on how to love the body of Messiah.

But those lovely people who add to my day, who challenge me, who bless me with their insight, I do enjoy checking in way too often to see what these people are up to. I love to follow a blossoming relationship, I love to hear what my fellow ladies are saying in group, I love the encouragement I get and hopefully give with my other special needs moms.

I’m not saying that Facebook can’t be evil, or something that you shouldn’t hate, what I’m saying is Facebook is what you make it to be. You can mold your page into something that feeds you, or allow it to be something that tears you up and adds unnecessary drama in your life.

Happy Facebooking today and do me a favor use that hide button a little more liberally and see what happens to your Facebook experience!

4 thoughts on “Oh How I love to hate Facebook!

  1. Rebecca July 4, 2011 / 10:33 am

    I definitely agree it's all how you make it! Very good post! This is Rebecca from Signature Women's Bible study on FB:)I am happy to see you have a blog!

  2. Becky July 4, 2011 / 4:54 pm

    Becca, welcome over here 🙂 Thanks, I want to be writing more so we will see!

  3. Amy July 5, 2011 / 11:10 am

    I like Facebook for the oppossite reason. Sort of. I know that to some people I might fall into the category of “crazy religious freak” but that's okay. I like that I can share whatever I want and if people don't like it, they don't have to read it. If they do, I often get comments from people with different perspectives and this helps me grow.

What do you think?

