Alzheimer’s Stole My Grandpa, Last night He was ushered Home.


In 2009 I wrote this letter to my Grandpa who was already so far gone to Alzheimer’s, I called the post Alzheimer’s is Stealing My Grandpa.  Last night around 1000pm CST my Grandpa passed on from this world, mercifully his passing was peaceful and quick. Even though I had prayed that he wouldn’t suffer much longer after Granny left us in May. Still I wasn’t prepared for the torrent of emotions that rent through me as I spoke to him via cell phone, he was to weak to reply, but my Mom said that he lifted his brows and opened his eyes, she said he recognized me. A few weeks ago I sent him a picture book with some photos of my family and as they looked through it with him he focused on the pages…he hadn’t focused on anything is quite a long time. I would like to think that it was his way of saying I remember, I love you, you were my special Brat.

Grandpa’s love was always rough around the edges, when he hugged me he would rub his whiskers on me knowing that it burned my cheek and he appreciated my smart-aleckness, though he didn’t allow back talk or sass as he called it. He wouldn’t let me hang out at the BS tree till I was nearly 18. He had a code of honor, an old fashioned sense of children and their place. He loved nature, he loved experiencing it, flying in a sea plane, taking a boat up the coast to Alaska, RV’ing everywhere. They had a life in the city, on the farm, on a boat, in the desert. He was a man of mystery, he was an everyday working man, he was featured in a children’s book, and there is a book of family history as well. He served his country above and beyond. He was my Grandpa and  he will be forever missed, loved, cherished.

Charles B. Ward
1926-2011
Zekher tzadik livrakha … may his memory always be for a blessing.
6 thoughts on “Alzheimer’s Stole My Grandpa, Last night He was ushered Home.

  1. Sigalit Chana August 30, 2011 / 8:20 pm

    I am sorry for your loss… May Yah comfort you and give you great Shalom. Love to you my sweet sister =)

  2. b841cbae-d376-11e0-befe-000bcdcb5194 August 30, 2011 / 9:13 pm

    He was a great and wonderful Grandpa!! He seemed invincible to me. He knew remedies for everything. Once someone pushed me I'n a nettle bush ( we won't mention any names lol) and he knew what herbs and spices to put on it so the sting would go away immediately . I loved him very much and always will. I love u too Becky.

  3. YahKheena August 30, 2011 / 10:57 pm

    May Yah comfort you in your loss and wrap you in his arms of Shalom.

  4. Blacksheep September 1, 2011 / 3:33 am

    what a horrible time for us to go rivercity. i will call as soon as I can.

  5. Becky September 1, 2011 / 3:15 pm

    Blacksheep – Hearing from you made my day!

  6. Becky September 1, 2011 / 3:16 pm

    Thank you all for the prayers and blessings, it has been a rough week looking forward to Shabbat with enthusiasm!!

What do you think?

