Could you leave Yeshua?


If someone had approached me while I was pregnant with Talitha and said I have this really cool lifestyle, that you are going to love but after 15 years you will abandon your belief in Yeshua ha Mashiach. I would have run not walked away from them and their crazy way of life.

And yet being Torah observant has led me to friendships where I have witnessed people leave the Way, to follow Judaism whether it be Orthodox or Karaite, the result was that same. What could lead a person who felt the move of the Holy Spirit walk away from their Messiah? How a could a person throw out everything they knew to be true concerning the Savior and now consider it idolatry?      

More importantly can these people be brought back to the fold? How do we warn those new to Torah Observance about this terrible problem? What can we tell them that will safeguard their hearts and keep them Believers?

7 thoughts on “Could you leave Yeshua?

  1. Theresa September 4, 2011 / 7:51 pm

    It is hard when most of what you learn about Yeshua is a lie, then I think people question everything. I have a “friend” on FB who is talking this way, has totally rejected Paul, and now seems to be rejecting Yeshua. To me this is throwing out the baby with the bath water. Just because you don't totally understand some of the Word doesn't mean you have to throw it out! I have some of the same questions you do – would like to know what answers you come up with.

  2. Theresa September 4, 2011 / 7:54 pm

    I should clarify – that I mean most of what we are taught in the church about Yeshua is a lie, not Yeshua himself… so then as we unravel those lies it's easier to say, “well, then, what about…?” I also think there is a period of grief for some (for me) when you find out what you thought was so important really is not true. Sometimes with grief is anger. I wonder if it wouldn't be helpful to share with new Torah Observant believers, that they may experience grief?

  3. Becky September 4, 2011 / 9:20 pm

    I see what you mean I felt discouraged and lied to as I discovered the doctrine had no basis in the Scripture. I know I have learned a number of things that have made me angry…angry that they are still be taught in the Church when people should know better!!
    Is your friend going more the ONLY SCRIPTURE route, which leads to Karites and Sacred Namer's or the Orthodox route, choosing to convert to Judaism?

  4. Theresa September 7, 2011 / 8:39 pm

    I can't tell for sure which way she is going. She seems kind of angry and just throwing things out there at this point. She puts really inflammatory stuff up and then wonders why people don't agree with her! I have not really jumped into the conversation at this point because when she started saying Paul was Apollo, I said something in question and she did not like it at all. So I've just been listening and waiting to see what direction, the Yeshua thing is just new and then nothing since then, so I'm hoping she is not abandoning Him!

  5. Becky September 9, 2011 / 10:18 am

    She must be struggling with something big, to be so angry most of my acquaintances that have left Yeshua have honestly left peacefully. Pray for her that is the best thing we can do and the most effective. If she has honest question not to be inflammatory then be there for her, but standing back and watching is probably your best bet right now.

  6. Amy September 12, 2011 / 4:45 pm

    I have been thinking about this for a few days. I will try to keep it brief! I wrote a lot of my thoughts on my own blog but I thought I would give a little outside perspective, partly because of Theresa's comments.

    When my Messianic friend in Belgium first started telling me about her new religious practices she was kind of bitter about being “lied to her whole life”. I found this bizzare. Some of the things she shared, hoping to shock me, were that Jesus was not born on Dec 25th and the Nicene creed “conspiracy”. I learned these things in school so I was suprised that she didn't already know this. My own religion makes no connection to Catholic or Protastant roots so none of this bothered me. What suprised me the most was that she mocked many common practices as being wrong or man-made. She and her friends spent a lot of time trying to show me the “evil Christian traditions”. I was disturbed my the venomous hostility some expressed towards mainstream Christians. I was even more confused when she started explaining cetain observances like Hanukah. To me, that was a tradition of man too because it is not in the Torah. Why is it okay but Christmas is so evil? Again I got a lot of defensiveness and even ugliness. Eventually we stopped having religious conversations all together.

    I concluded that Messianic, as a whole, was a hypocrisy club for disallusioned Christians. The attitude was identical to that of the Christians who spend their Sunday sermons preaching about the evils of Mormons and Catholics and Buddists and everyone else who disagrees with them.

    I know this is unfair to those who are humble and sincere and I mean no disrespect. My point is that there seem to be many vocal, angry people among you who are bad examples and may lead (or drive)others away. I also think it is weak to prove your own beliefs true by tearing down others. (Again, I know this isn't true of everyone) I believe my friend is sincerely trying to do her very best to be obedient and align her life with the teachings of the Torah. At the same time, I would not be at all suprised if she found this contradictory to some of the practices of those in her association. The path of righteousness does not lead to anger and hostility.

  7. Becky September 15, 2011 / 10:05 pm

    Amy – brief and you just don't get along 😉
    I think your post has more to do with your friend then it does with my post.

    You bring up some interesting points, I'll jump in with Hanukkah, Jesus kept that one and it is recorded in John 10 as the festival of dedication, its lesser known name, for it marks the dedication of the Temple.

    Obviously tradition in themselves are not “evil” the Lord is recorded to have kept at least a dozen of them right there in the New Testament.

    There are many tactless, hurt and angry believers who don't understand they do more harm then good, but it is not as a result of Torah and the traditions that accompanies it, but in spite of them.

What do you think?

