Waiting, Apparently I’m not Good at It


In a few short weeks my husband will be home. I will relish the little things like his toothbrush next to mine, his boots by the front door, his socks littering the floor.
Until then…I will be a manic wreck. I will cry at commercials, silly FB postings, and my children calling out for their Daddy. I will lose my temper more times then I care to admit, I will skip school days, and put off laundry and dishes. I will live off of Sprite and Tortilla chips and Queso Quesadilla Cheese, lol. I will call Mom and Jenn a few too many times, with nothing really to say. I will bug my FRSA and check the Homecoming page until I know its URL by heart.
I don’t do this waiting thing well.

Here is a short list of things you can do for me or any other spouse who is in that hard spot of deployment.

  •  Give me space at the commissary, taking 5 children to do the grocery shopping for the 52nd time by myself…not fun.
  •  Don’t ask me when, I don’t know and it’s like asking a pregnant woman when she’s due…if you needed to know, you’d know.  
  • I know I’m skipping church, forgive me, taking 5 children to service on my own, has worn me down and I don’t wanna do it again till I have backup. 
  • Don’t comment on the state of my housekeeping or my car unless you are volunteering to help. 
  • Oh! Volunteer to help watch my kids, so I can clean that classroom and tidy the man cave, soon there will be a man in it! 
  • The kids are well fed and hydrated, their diapers are changed regularly and they bathe, don’t look sideways at me cause I didn’t put that super cute bow in the babies hair and its been too many weeks between haircuts for the boys. 
  • In short cut me a break, I promise to do the same for you when you are in the home stretch.
3 thoughts on “Waiting, Apparently I’m not Good at It

  1. Endeavoring Mama October 4, 2011 / 4:12 pm

    Awe… Rebecca I feel you. David was gone from our house for a little over two years when he joined. But, if I see you in the com I'll probably actually get excited because I'm a nerd like that and we still haven't met officially.

    I envy you for figuring it all out. I still don't know what the heck I'm doing sometimes.

  2. Becky October 5, 2011 / 12:26 pm

    lol, I know that feeling too! Yeah just be all like, I totally know you! I'm your FB friend, and I'll be like uhm are you sure? LOL

What do you think?

