Christmas, ah that time of year again…


Do not read this post if you believe in Christmas trees in the Church.

Do not read this post if you believe that Yeshua was born on December 25.

 

Okay I warned ya.

 

Last week I got to go shopping by myself. Daddy stayed home with the children and Talitha went to AWANAs. I know some of you are already thinking, what are you doing sending your children to AWANAs. Relax, on paper AWANAs is all about learning Scripture, praising G-d and being a better person…it’s actually a great group. So I arrived early to discover to my dismay that they were practicing for their Christmas Show. I watched my daughter sing two great praise songs, doing all the hand motions, her face totally enraptured with the idea that G-d is great. It was wonderful to watch. They read Scripture from Luke of the virgin birth. It was so great that I was thinking that I should talk my husband into letting her attend and we would all go to watch her when…wait for it…they sang Happy Birthday to Jesus, talked about how He was the “real” reason for the season. Even though when the leader asked these children who studied the Word what Christmas was all about they all answered….presents.

I was so disappointed. I was racking my brain to figure out how to explain to my daughter she can’t go. How to tell my husband that she participated in it without making it look real bad. Funny thing when I was talking to Bobby’s Mom about it she said, “Oh no, they mixed the Holy with the profane?” I love her.

Talitha had earned a new badge and was super excited to tell everyone about it, so when we got home I let her have her glory. Before bedtime I lead a discussion about what G-d would want us to do, when we know the right choice to make. He is always telling us here’s your choice, choose life, choose Holiness, choose My Ways. So we talked about Christmas it’s origins and why we don’t celebrate it…then I asked Talitha if she wanted to go to the performance? She said no, that if G-d said no then we can’t do otherwise. I tried to talk her out of it, but you will miss your friends, it will be so much fun, what about the singing, but no, if G-d said not to follow after pagans and see how they worship their gods and do it too, if it says that we aren’t to bring a tree in the house, if we are to be above reproach, not even giving the appearance of sin…then we should leave Christmas alone and stick to the Holy Days that are commanded.

I love my children. I love that when they know better, they do better. They aren’t afraid of what people might think, or what they “miss” out on, they just want to do what is right.

So crisis averted…

7 thoughts on “Christmas, ah that time of year again…

  1. Sombra December 7, 2011 / 4:14 pm

    My kids are the same way, Yahweh is so much more important to them than “fun” or “tastes good” or “all my friends are doing it”

  2. Theresa December 7, 2011 / 6:53 pm

    I think this is amazing and powerful. I love the reverence in your children for what is holy.
    BTW, how do you transfer a blog to WordPress, does it cost, and what are the photo/storage options? ❤

    • harmony671 December 8, 2011 / 9:43 am

      Theresa – You are such a blessing to me, I always smile when I read your posts 🙂

      You just download a file from Blogger, follow the links to Export your blog, then when you set up your blog on WordPress they have an option to import form Blogger. No cost, very simple, brings in everything, pictures, comments the works!

      • Theresa December 28, 2011 / 2:16 pm

        Thanks!!! I’m going to look into that! I’m also very interested in a book you referenced when talking about believers celebrating Hanukkah.

      • harmony671 December 28, 2011 / 6:30 pm

        In what post or convo did I mention the book?

      • harmony671 December 28, 2011 / 9:51 pm

        Oh the FFOZ book, they have a lot of texts you might enjoy reading 🙂

  3. kasarhema December 21, 2011 / 9:17 am

    wow! Am so-o glad you shared this with everyone, on your blog!
    Am so glad your daughter already has enough of YHVH’s Wisdom inside her to realize she only wants to do what G-d says to do!
    Shalom!
    Kathy

What do you think?

