Thank you.


After Sabbath Musings

I spent part of my Sabbath study reading the intro and first chapter of  Raising a Child with Soul: How Time-Tested Jewish Wisdom Can Shape Your Child’s Character. Her style of writing is so soothing and natural, you have to catch yourself and remember that you are supposed to be learning here. Her first lesson is prayer, you must entreat G-d for your hopes and dreams and above all for your desire for your child to walk in the ways of Torah. Second she encourages you that the foundation of making your home a sanctuary is gratitude.

So this week we will be all about how to remind ourselves to be thankful. Not a rushed thanks mom, for dinner, but the actual spontaneous thanks given to both G-d and mom over the smaller more expected things in life. This will be a lesson for me too. Though I am very thankful for my life and everything in it, I am not very vocal about that. If I set the example then the children will follow suit, they love a new Torah lesson.

Have you read 1000 Gifts: A Dare to live Fully right where you are? Ann Voskamp also has a blog, http://www.aholyexperience.com/, and she definitely has dialed in to being grateful for everything, down to the rainbows on the soap suds. This is a great project to undertake with your older children as well, she has some great DIY lists to record 1000 blessings as well as an app for you technophiles.

I will check back in on Thursday to let you know how the week has gone and if I feel that I am ready for chapter two.

2 thoughts on “Thank you.

  1. Mom January 15, 2012 / 9:44 am

    I’m thankful for you.

  2. Amy Wilson Marshall January 16, 2012 / 3:52 pm

    I did a daily “Thank Tank” on my blog in November. I was honestly startled by the changes that came over me in just a few weeks of really focusing on my blessings.

What do you think?

