Are you always right?


After Sabbath Musings 1/29/12

Why can’t we leave each other alone?

Why do we insist on requiring others to be held to these impossible standards.

I came across this great review on an article from Messiah Journal a FFOZ publication.  I read it, all of it, and I read most of the comments. I loved the idea that the author’s at FFOZ are not stagnant, that they aren’t reigned in by some church bylaws or dogma, but can study the word and supporting materials and follow where they are led.

I was on this high sort to speak when I came across another posting about FFOZ calling them out for yet again changing there stance on Torah’s obligations. Though I don’t begin to pretend to understand all the nuances of this, lemme tell you I am glad I don’t have someone watching me with a microscope, dissecting my every move and determining my motivation for change.

When I was young I attended a Baptist Church, I thought it was all about salvation through fear and baptism. In jr and sr high I attended a number of churches most of them charismatic or pentacostal in nature.  I struggle with a number of their teachings mainly because I was raised Baptist. As a young adult I completely left the church not attending again till I was 23, that’s six years of checking out what the world had to offer. Then I was in a non-denominational church for the next six years, which was integral in my family rediscovering Torah. In all that time, I taught children and peers, what I understood of the Bible and God. Today looking back, I was wrong a lot of the time, even today I find myself reteaching my children, because I have learned something new.

Should I be shamed into remaining stagnant? Should I not be allowed to teach my children the new understandings I have found? Who would tell me to stop growing? People have a right to call me out in my ways, they have a right to say, “I disagree with you.” We can discuss that, but you don’t have a right to second guess my motivations. In all that I have ever done it was to better understand God, His creation and my place in it.

Why would any of the followers of Yeshua deny a person the right to change, grow, strengthen themselves through the Word, because that person is an author or pastor or musical artist? Why would we tell them they must be 100% right or they must remain silent? Do we honestly think that any man on this planet has it all right? Do we ourselves feel that we are above reproach? That no fault can be found in our personal halacha? This is ridiculous.

We need to stop building walls, creating division within the body. How are we to look to the Messiah, the spotless bride when we have drawn great big black lines all over our wedding dress?

2 thoughts on “Are you always right?

  1. pamela holland February 28, 2012 / 8:53 am

    I think I commented before but I read this again and I marvel at your handling the truth with such respect. Keep growing …you are looking more and more like Him.

    • harmony671 February 28, 2012 / 9:12 am

      Mom, you are my inspiration.

What do you think?

