Field trips.


So two weeks ago we attempted to go to our first home school field trip.  I took all the kids and went to the Fire Station. So there was a bit of milling around till the inspector led us on our tour, to be honest, he did a great job. He was engaging and explained some safety rules before we got started. Told some interesting factoids, about the trucks and the whole Fire Dept.

About five minutes in to the tour Ephraim was done, shortly followed by Joshua, then Sarah quit, because the boys sitting against the wall waiting seemed to be more exciting then standing near the truck. Robby followed along and seemed to enjoy the whole thing. 30 minutes into our trip Talitha was done, her feet were killing her! lol

Okay so I had to leave before the Q&A was over, Robby was a trooper about that, the rest of the kids wanted to know if we were getting McDonald’s completely oblivious. I returned home extremely disheartened and removed myself from the FaceBook home school group. It wasn’t their fault, but I didn’t need to see post after post of really cool outings, that we couldn’t go to.  I really don’t know what I was thinking to try a field trip, the only trips I have ever gone one that have worked for us was a outings with Jenn and the girls, and with Big Mama and Daddy. I need more adults per children in the ratio for the recipe to work. Lesson learned.

 

4 thoughts on “Field trips.

  1. Sombra March 6, 2012 / 9:03 am

    Just so you know, I have been to a Firehall with a homeschool field trip group and spent the entire time with a kid on the wall .. had to DRAG him into the building because he just does not like GROUPS, let alone Adults trying to engage him in anything. You’re experience sounds perfectly normal to me… some will, some won’t, so what, NEXT!.. Go to the ones that you can cope with, – and we have a secret weapon too. Katie. If Katie goes on a field trip, I can usually get Asher to buddy up with Katie and the world is pretty easy. Went on one field trip.. all we had to do was sit on a bus as we toured the dump. Asher wouldn’t get out of the van into the bus… but then Katie came alone, and she was able to take him onto the bus for me.

  2. Amy Marshall March 6, 2012 / 9:09 am

    Don’t get discouraged! Being a big famliy is hard! Your kids have a certain disadvantage of a) being together all the time and b) not being accustomed to a structured setting like a classroom. I don’t mean that as an insult. It will just take time and consistency to teach them how to be patient and stretch tehir attention spans. AND they are all pretty young! It will get better. Don’t give up on trips completely. In a few years they will be ready. I make a point of taking my kids with me instead of getting a sitter. I want them to learn how to behave in different settings. It can be frustrating in the moment but in the long run it has worked well.

    • harmony671 March 6, 2012 / 10:27 am

      What do I do when Ephraim has a meltdown, that requires all of my attention? How do I maintain control and observation of the other four?

      • Amy Marshall March 6, 2012 / 12:54 pm

        Try practice trips. I become most frustrated when I HAVE to do something or be somehwere and the children don’t cooperate. When I don’t have that pressure I can handle things much better. So pick something like the library or the park and just be ready to go if you need to. I also used to coach the kids ahead of time about how to behave and what the consequences would be. I actually still do that sometimes. These kinds of outings are good practice for me too beacue I don’t become emotional when they act up. I can deal with them more objectively.

What do you think?

