Aw yeah, respite care!


Lavender is to the body what respite is to the soul...

So last year when the kids were diagnosed on the Spectrum and enrolled in the exceptional family member program (EFMP) we had our names put on the waiting list for respite care. Now just one short year later we have started working with a provider.

Last year our wonderful Co-co was my respite worker, she is a very awesome young girl who would help me out with SO much, with errands, housework, child watch and appointment running. Unfortunately she got too expensive, no really her family moved and took her with them, the nerve! I told her I had to find a replacement and though this new provider only does child watch I can tell already this is going to so release some pressure from the system.

She came for three hours today, watched the kids while I made lunch, played board games with them while I put the babies down, allowed me to have a phone conversation, say what?!? and made it through her first Ephraim meltdown. Believe me when I say that I wasn’t nearly as worn out at the end of the day as I normally am.

I am looking forward to getting some projects done around the house and Bobby was saying maybe next month I might want to utilize her hours so I could work out…what work out?! That’s crazy talk…but I just might!

2 thoughts on “Aw yeah, respite care!

  1. Theresa April 19, 2012 / 6:36 pm

    What a huge relief! I’m so glad you’ve had help!

What do you think?

