When the laundry room can wait


Laundry equipment within a room

So yesterday was rough. Ephraim seemed to wake on the wrong side of the bed and took it out on everyone. Even his favorite baby sister got pushed down yesterday, whew! It was exhausting and by the end of the day I had a roaring migraine, make that day three!

On days like this I usually lower my expectations, I throw out the to-do list, I may even cancel school. I add in “fun” activities like art and play-doh, and an extra half hour of yo gabba gabba for the babies. I “circle the wagons” and try to keep on track as much as possible. I aim for the big stuff, food on the table and diapers changed. I throw out the little stuff like organizing the laundry room or working on my blog so it will go out on time.

At the end of the day I struggle with feeling like I didn’t get anything accomplished, but when I see those angels asleep on their pillows, so peaceful, so quiet. *snicker* I have a glimmer of recognition that I did a huge job today, I lead by example. I showed my children that even when things don’t go our way, when stuff just seems upside down, we can keep our cool. It doesn’t always end like this, I won’t pretend I don’t often just fall into bed without even glancing at the kids, that some time I fall asleep praying for forgiveness and strength to get through another day. But even that is a victory.

2 thoughts on “When the laundry room can wait

    • harmony671 April 26, 2012 / 11:51 am

      Nope and I’m not showing anyone what our laundry room really looks like, LOL!

What do you think?

