Trying something new


So we went visiting to another congregation last night for praise and worship and oneg to follow.

Kids were all excited to go, they were excited to here the music and dance and sing. Until the bands started up, whether it was the acoustics or that we are just used to one guitar and two voices, it was loud. Ephraim imediately rolled up into a ball on the pew, Talitha bounced off to dance in the back, where it was quieter and she could watch herself in the reflection of a window. However when my NT son, turns to me and says this is a little overwhelming, I knew. I knew it was time to cut it short and head off for some chow.

Bobby and I are always down for something new, we both love to sing and a trip to Nashville filled with worship sounded awesome, in theory. Though I am not a proponent of rearranging heaven and earth so my two ASD kids don’t ever get uncomfortable, I don’t like to lead them into a meltdown scenario either. I felt bad they were so miserable and in turn didn’t get to enjoy myself either. Later my dh said he too was having a hard time enjoying it all for the same reasons.

I won’t give up trying new things, but I must say last night wasn’t high on the list of “lets do that again!”

What do you think?

