Aspie on the plane I repeat…


Talitha, that's my girl
Talitha, that’s my girl!

My son rode the airlines for the first time unaccompanied last Spring, headed home from his grandparents, he was 8 at the time. In our family milestones are usually set by maturity, not age. So if Robby did X at age 5 that doesn’t mean that Talitha can do the same thing at 5 but only if she is mature enough for the activity. So I am thinking it will be years before I put my dear sweet lovable girl on the plane for grandma’s. I mean she has Asperger’s, right? She can’t possibly fly alone, right?

Well her therapist and her ABA tutor both agreed she was ready for such a flight and to be away from home, no schedule and lots of new experiences…I’m sorry what? I was not ready for this, I still get nervous when I drop her off at child watch, what if someone teases her, hurts her feelings, what if she’s scared and no one comforts her or worse mocks her pain? But when I take a step back, when I look at her 8 years old, not a little kid anymore, when I see her for the quirky lovable young lady she has become…WOW!

She is an amazing girl. She is caring, and giving, she is helpful and desires to please. She has a beautiful voice, she bright, catches on quick and is passionate in her beliefs and her love. When she called me from Big Mama’s to let me know she was alright and having a great time, I said is this my baby? Who is the grown child with a big girl voice chatting my ear off? Who is this autonomous person having normal childhood adventures and making memories that will hopefully last a lifetime? Is this my Talitha?  I’m floored. I’m proud. I’m starting to lay aside some fears I’ve been carrying around when I look down the road to her future…and it feels good!

8 thoughts on “Aspie on the plane I repeat…

    • harmony671 May 17, 2012 / 6:05 pm

      It was a revelation to me that I was holding onto a limited view of her future, I am praying that as time goes on I will see her future as limitless 🙂

  1. ganderingdreams May 17, 2012 / 3:00 pm

    Brilliant blog ,made me smile for you and for her 🙂

    • harmony671 May 17, 2012 / 6:01 pm

      Thanks, it’s amazing how far she’s come in the last few years. We are blessed.

  2. Amy's Amazing Aspie World May 17, 2012 / 5:54 pm

    Thank you for the shout out…Great Post!!! You express yourself very well…And Talitha is a precious little girl!!!

    • harmony671 May 17, 2012 / 6:00 pm

      Thanks! Glad to have you over for a visit 🙂

  3. Robert Holland May 18, 2012 / 6:06 am

    Are you kidding Aspies have more potential. Have you met me, or my mother. I mean we rock.

What do you think?

