Moving…right now!


Okay so we knew back in April that we would be moving. We also knew that we had a report date for the end of August…and I momentarily forgot we are Army and that the only thing you can rely on is change.

My husband came home from work yesterday and announced a bit too loud for my AS children that we were moving sooner than later and while we still don’t have the details the move should come in July as opposed to August.

*Deep Breath*If y’all don’t know, we have five children, we live in a five bedroom townhouse, we have been married for 14 years…we have a TON of stuff!!

*Deep Breath* I’m not sure how I am going to clean this house, much less organize it for a move. And I just lost 30 days of prep time?

*Deep Breath* I spent most of the morning scouring the internet for moving schedules, how to clear housing with out fines, and what to do with five kids while planning a move across half the country. I know this will all work out. I know that the move is so what we need, for family, for career, for sanity. I know that by the fall I will be happily ensconced in my new place but for now, I practice my deep breathing.

4 thoughts on “Moving…right now!

  1. ganderingdreams June 2, 2012 / 2:22 pm

    We moved a year an a half ago only about a hundred miles with 5 boys , it was crazy . Not everything went to plan but we sorted out the most important first but mostly it was ok and things were good again. GOODLUCK 🙂

    • harmony671 June 2, 2012 / 2:53 pm

      Thanks, I’m going to need it! We make the trip once a year, so we know that part…but the cleaning and moving thing? Last time I did that…we only had two that could walk…five? *Deep Breath*

  2. Amy Marshall June 2, 2012 / 4:52 pm

    We have been on the Army yo-yo for the past few months. We are now living in an empty house while we finish up a few things in town. It won’t be so bad. I would spend some time each day purging ( I mean cleaning out your stuff, not vomitting…even if you feel like it!) We also started painting rooms and boxing up the unnessary stuff over a month ago. So the kids are used to having less toys, etc. Now that the place is empty we are just touching up a few spots that need repainting. We don’t live on post now but we have in the past. I would find out EXACTLY what they will be looking at and take care of those things first. When we moved from post they made us change the soap dishes in the bathroom and the drip pans on the stove but we diddn’t have to paint because our place was due for a paint job.

    GOOD LUCK!!! It will be fine. Just keep breathing!

    • harmony671 June 2, 2012 / 8:50 pm

      I hadn’t heard that you all were moving too! Where are you headed?

What do you think?

