Short Timer’s Disease?


I watered my garden this morning and it rained.

I planted my garden and we got orders to move.

Our ABA just finalized an amazing plan for the kids and we are seeing good progress…and we are moving.

I was reading in one of my favorite Military Wives books that there is something called short timer’s disease. At least I think that is what she calls it. The idea is that once you realize you are moving, or you arrive a duty station with an expiration, you say things like. I can’t pick a new church we are leaving in October. Or, I can’t volunteer for the food drive we are leaving in the Spring…etc etc.

I take this to heart. I want to be the family who is going to parties, and play dates, who is attending church regularly, who is still taking her kids to all her appointments. I want people to turn around one day and say where’s the Hollands? Oh didn’t you know they moved last weekend…No, are you sure they were just here…

One thought on “Short Timer’s Disease?

What do you think?

