Lessons


Took Robby to the barn yesterday to have a riding lesson. He rode a horse that he was familiar with and who had been taking a break from riding lessons too. It was too funny both the horse and the rider had this posture that said, “Aw do we have to?” I love to watch Robby ride though.

 

He has a natural ability. He has a focus and retains the info like almost nothing else I have ever seen him do. He is also very confident and sure of himself while riding. Robby was always my scaredy cat as a small child, afraid of the road, so that he didn’t want to walk on the sidewalk. When we were in Germany he would not walk across the large grates on the sidewalk he was sure he was going to fall in. He still yells at me if I start the car and not everyone has their seat belts on. Last night I overheard him say to the trainer, when do I get to run? Run?!? As in a full gallop? Is this MY child? But I am thrilled for him.

He’s found a niche that he shares with his Big Mama who was a barrel racer back in the day. He excels at something none of his siblings have shown a big interest in. As his confidence grows with each lesson I can see it branching out in other areas. Never been my child to roam the neighborhood he asked the other day if his  boundaries could be expanded to include another street. I gave it some considerable thought, laid out the rules clearly and let him have a go. He did great coming home at the right time and staying within the new boundaries and rediscovered a friendship with a boy he thought had moved away.

As much as I tell my son to stop growing up, I am really enjoying watching him grow up. He’s going to be just like his Daddy, a GREAT Man!

One thought on “Lessons

  1. betsyk1 June 13, 2012 / 11:50 am

    Awh, that’s super sweet.

What do you think?

