His first loose tooth


I had just finished passing out apples for our afternoon snack when Ephraim started screaming and crying real tears. Rushing over to me he said his tooth could no longer chop his food and it hurt really bad. You could see the fear in his eyes and so I calmed him down with our mantra,

“are you going to die?”

“no”

“can you show me where it hurts”

“yes”

“alright let me see…I’m not going to touch it”

Oh! you have a loose tooth. I paste on my biggest smile, light my eyes with pride and tell my son you are about to loose your very first tooth. New fear in his eyes, will it hurt really bad when it comes out? No, this is how you get your grown up teeth, just like Robby and Talitha…who rush over with pride to welcome  the newest among the ranks of wriggly teeth and gaping smiles.

He says but I still can’t chop my apple, I break out the apple slicer and tell him only boys who are losing their front teeth get their apples sliced…later at dinner they get their corn chopped up too!

Right before bed with a mischievous gleam in his eyes he says since I have a loose tooth, can I sleep in Talitha’s and Sarah’s bed…uh no, your loose tooth doesn’t need the cushy bed and pillows! (we are staying at Bobby’s parents and the boys are bunking on the floor and the girls got the bed) But we all had a good laugh and sent him off to bed er floor 😉

One thought on “His first loose tooth

  1. ParentingIsFunny August 21, 2012 / 2:43 pm

    Sweet! Way to go, Mom. Way to (try to) work, Son. 🙂

What do you think?

