Book Review: Tent of David by Boaz Michael


Occasionally I will do a book review on here, usually for BookSneeze, but occasionally for something I am reading on my own. This particular book, Tent of David,  got a lot of press even before it was released through blog reviews. So I jumped at the opportunity to buy it, and now here is my review.

1. I have never read anything written by Boaz before, when I checked the store on FFOZ I saw only one other book penned by Boaz and I don’t have it yet 12 Gates is the title. That being said, I was disappointed by the quality of writing. I have read a few books by Lancaster, and Eby’s Kosher book, as well as owning 5 of the Torah Club sets, so I am by no means a FFOZ basher. To the contrary I have always been challenged by the academic, spiritual, and scriptural content from this publication company. We even defended their right to change from “One Law” to “Divine Invitation.” But to be honest I think Boaz’s latest fell Imageflat. The text was muddled, rambled and lacked focus throughout. It did have some amazing gems and if you read the chapter entitled “Strategic Mission” you would receive, imo, the best text has to offer, and imo you could skip the rest. The shame is this is only 10 pages out of 200. 


2. There were some portions of the text that were clearly the opinion of the author and not “scripture” but the text failed to clearly delineate that. I think this was do to poor editing, imo, than an intent to mislead. There were also a few points that appeared to be emotionally manipulative, and some that were downright insulting. I speak of the author’s opinion that Messianic Gentiles are incapable of creating healthy congregational environments and the declaration that children raised in “fringe” congregations and home churches will eventually leave faith in Messiah. 

3. The vision that Boaz has for the Gentile Messianic is commendable, it is good, but it’s not great. To steal a phrase from the text. My main concern is for those believers who stay in the Church trying to fulfill his vision(which is a good vision) while they are spiritually languishing, having no mentor of their own, no spiritual “food” from which to draw from. My big question is, from where do they get all the knowledge that Boaz says you must have to be a shaliach while staying in a church that teaches supersessionism, and borderline antisemitic teachings? Should they study alone, God forbid. 

4. Would I recommend this text? Not to everyone, I think there are those who would simply be angered by it and miss the vision Boaz has. In addition, I think there are those who are not mature enough, or know enough scripture to be able to weed out the fact from opinion. I would be very careful who I recommend this text to.

What do you think?

