We are low on funding so…


I’ve been thinking about this post for a week, I haven’t been able to get it down cause m thoughts are all over the place. The long and the short of it: I have two children on the spectrum, Asperger’s and PDD-NOS, we are Active Duty US Army and the medical provider we have been assigned to is reviewing the children’s diagnosis because “we are low on funding and must be judicial with the diagnosis.”

Never mind that my children have been on the spectrum their WHOLE lives and it was only two years ago that I finally got someone who would listen to me and truly evaluate the children.

Never mind that the services they have received because of their diagnosis has made them completely different children.

Never mind we aren’t up for a review of their needs for another year.

Never mind that we are in the middle of our school year and having to make numerous appointments to “prove” our kids are on the spectrum.

How does this support the soldier and his family? How does this make me feel more comfortable with the system I fought so hard against to finally get my children the help they needed? What are we going to do if they say my kids have “grown out of Autism?”

7 thoughts on “We are low on funding so…

  1. Michelle February 12, 2013 / 2:10 pm

    How frustrating…and worrisome. Praying that the doctor sees the need and the benefits of the treatment already begun and continues in that vein. Praying for peace amidst this very trying time. ((Hugs))

    • harmony671 February 12, 2013 / 5:27 pm

      Thank you for the reminder, prayer is our best option 🙂

  2. Brady February 12, 2013 / 8:54 pm

    Abraham called the name of that place The LORD Will Provide, as it is said to this day, “In the mount of the LORD it will be provided.” (Gen 22:14) Keep the faith, sister.

  3. Nancy February 19, 2013 / 6:44 am

    i started reading this a while back and never could seem to get through it all…it’s not that much, I’ve just been so busy. In 9 years that my daughter had Autism not one Dr. could diagnose her with that. I spent 7 of those years doing research and going from one Dr. to another and none would ever admit what her problems were. A 4 month study in Louisville’s Kosair Hospital still only came back with a diagnosis of Tourette’s Syndrome…I understand firsthand what you’re going through. Blessings and Prayers.

  4. margaret February 19, 2013 / 1:39 pm

    Oh Becky I will be praying for you, we had the same fight, and know what your are going through. let us know if there is anything we can do. Love mom and David

    • harmony671 February 19, 2013 / 5:08 pm

      Thanks Mom, just keep us in your prayers. This is mainly being fueled by the idea of limited funding, but because my kids are so high functioning they may be bumped out of the system. In theory this will make room for lower functioning children. In reality it just sets up a bad pattern of denying HF Autistic kids the helps they need to succeed. imo

  5. Amish Author Sicily Yoder January 19, 2014 / 6:09 pm

    Three of my grandchildren have autism and are getting help in Louisville. Jay could only say a few words, but is talking up a storm now. I’ve worn my knees out praying for them. It’s difficult.

What do you think?

