After Sabbath Musings 1/5/2014


I have been teaching the children’s class at Synagogue, ages 6-12. They are a good group of kids and as much as I didn’t volunteer for the job, I do enjoy teaching them.

During quiet time this afternoon I picked up a copy of “To Pray as a Jew.” I have read other books by this author and I’m really enjoying this as well. So far the history of liturgical prayer has been super intriguing. The chapter on Kavanah makes it quite clear while certain timed prayers are not incumbent on women. You can definitely know that you are praying to God, you might even know what you are saying, but to free one’s thoughts of distractions while children quarrel nearby, not always possible.  Maybe I will write a review when I finish it.

I’m also re-reading Hallowed Be Your Name by Aaron Eby and Toby Janicki. There has been a lot of Sacred Name talk lately and I just thought I would brush up on the “why” of preserving the sanctity of the Name.

We had a nice day, but I’m looking forward to when Bobby doesn’t have to work weekends. It will be nice to have him home.

One thought on “After Sabbath Musings 1/5/2014

  1. Michelle January 5, 2014 / 11:07 am

    You are amazing! I don’t know how you juggle it all – homeschooling, teaching at Synagogue, reading/researching, parenting, dealing w/anxiety (something I, too, can relate to), and sooo much more. May you be blessed beyond measure for all that you have done and will continue to do. ((HUGS))

What do you think?

